I Want To Play Too…

I’m Lorna, mum to E (12) and T (8). E is a child who loves to feel the wind in her hair, and splashing in water. She also happens to have a rare genetic condition which means that she is a wheelchair user; and she has severe learning disabilities. My son is a typical 8 year old. 

Over the years we have found that when we visit play parks my son will have a fabulous time. He will go off and run to the swings and the slide, if he could he’d be in the park for hours at a time. 

For my daughter, the park couldn’t be more different. We scan the park to see if there’s anything that she can play on. If we’re lucky there might be a wheelchair accessible roundabout, but after about 10 minutes the initial joy of play wears off, and there’s nothing else for her to do…

Often there is no wheelchair accessible roundabout, and my heart sinks, we have to look to see what we can adapt. I spot a basket swing, I physically lift her into her it, and her face breaks into a smile. I know that if she didn’t have her learning disabilities, she might be here with her friends and they would not be able to lift her so that she could play too. She would be an observer, and what child wants to sit and watch other children play?

I know our story is one that is repeated across the country. So many disabled children who have little to no play opportunities in their own local playparks. This needs to change, disabled children and their siblings need to be able to play too. That’s why I’m supporting Scopes campaign for an accessible playground fund. I’m asking will you support it too, please sign their open letter. Disabled kids want to play too. Let’s play fair.

2 thoughts on “I Want To Play Too…

Leave a comment